We are the UK Government’s independent adviser on sustainable development. Through advocacy, advice and
appraisal, we help put sustainable development at the heart of Government policy


Will Day, Chairman 2009 - 2011

Will DayHaving graduated from the University of Exeter with a degree in Politics, Will spent the majority of his early career working in international development with organisations such Save the Children UK and Oxfam GB. Instrumental in the establishment of Comic Relief, Will went on to become its first Grants Director, before moving on to become the first full time Director of the Opportunity Trust. Between 1996 and 2004, he was Chief Executive of CARE International UK. Until July 2008 Will was Chairman of the BBC Children in Need Appeal, the largest grant giver for disadvantaged children in the UK, and an independent assessor for the public appointments process of the DCMS.

He is currently Special Advisor to the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and a Senior Associate of the University of Cambridge Programme for Sustainability Leadership, where he is a faculty member of the Prince of Wales’s Business and Environment Programme. He is Chairman of Water and Sanitation for the Urban Poor (WSUP), a non-profit company bringing together private sector and NGO organisations to pursue the MDG for water and sanitation, and most recently has been appointed as a part-time Sustainability Advisor to Pricewaterhouse Coopers in the UK. He sits on the Board of the Overseas Development Institute (ODI), and is a member of WWF UK's Council of Ambassadors.

Jonathon Porritt, Chairman 2000 - 2009

Jonathon PorrittJonathon Porritt, Co-Founder of Forum for the Future, and former Chairman of the UK Sustainable Development Commission, is an eminent writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development. Established in 1996, Forum for the Future is now the UK’s leading sustainable development charity, with 70 staff and over 100 partner organisations, including some of the world’s leading companies.

In addition, he is Co-Director of The Prince of Wales's Business and Sustainability Programme which runs Seminars for senior executives around the world. He is a Non-Executive Director of Wessex Water, and of Willmott Dixon Holdings. He is a Trustee of the Ashden Awards for Sustainable Energy, and is involved in the work of many NGOs and charities as Patron, Chair or Special Adviser. He stood down as Chairman of the UK Sustainable Development Commission in July 2009 after nine years providing high-level advice to Government Ministers. 


Maria Adebowale Val Ellis Tim O’Riordan
Rod Aspinwall Ann Finlayson Derek Osborn
Jan Bebbington Nicky Gavron Alice Owen
Helen Browning Chris Gibson Smith Anne Power
Bernie Bulkin  John Gilliland  Hugh Raven
Maureen Childs Tess Gill  Waheed Saleem 
Rita Clifton  Brian Hanna  Charles Secrett 
Lindsey Colbourne  Deirdre Hutton  Richard Wakeford 
Anna Coote Tim Jackson Becky Willis
Ed Crooks Alan Knight Jess Worth
Stewart Davies  Tim Lang  Graham Wynne 
Peter Davies  Walter Menzies  Raymond Young